Skip to main content
Tip

Germany tour

Benjamin Clementine is back! In the fall of 2022, his third studio album "And I Have Been" was released with twelve word and voice powerful songs that can be grasped more through Clementine's personality than through pure genre pigeonholes. With his unique blend of passionate piano playing, profound lyrics and devoted delivery, Benjamin Clementine has been called one of the world's greatest musical geniuses.

BENJAMIN CLEMENTINE
BENJAMIN CLEMENTINE AKATRE STUDIOS

Clementine sounds as if Ray Charles has risen to sing to a song by Chilly Gonzales. His deep and warm soul voice adds that special something to Clementine's graceful piano ballads.

The Ghanaian-born Brit has built an amazing career, thrilling audiences in small live clubs as well as large concert halls. Benjamin Clementine captivates the audience with even the softest words and piano strokes.

His debut album "Cornerstone" already received all the praise in the media, but live the London native shows his potential even more impressively. The first impressions of his new tracks testify that Benjamin Clementine wants to charm a lot more fans.

"I've been lonely", he sang in his first single "Cornerstone" and one can figuratively imagine how he once made the passers-by of the Paris Metro pause and marvel with this song. That's exactly where the Parisian by choice was discovered.

That was around 2014, when his first songs "Condolence" or "Cornerstone" appeared: His voice had soul, his piano playing was jazzy, his live school were the streets of Paris, where Clementine lived for a while, homeless, and even then impressed many people.

After the albums "At Least For Now" (awarded the Mercury Prize in 2014) and the also acclaimed "I Tell A Fly", Clementie has now set up completely self-sufficient for "And I Have Been": The record comes on his own label, Preserve Artists, and was written, produced and recorded entirely by him.

Benjamin Clementine explained in a statement about the record, "'And I Have Been' was brought into the world during Covid. Like everyone, I was faced with many lessons, complications and enlightenments that had to do with sharing my journey with someone special."

Benjamin Clementine is more than just a talented singer-songwriter!
Additional information
Events
Datum
Tempodrom

Direkt zum Inhalt
Tipp

Deutschlandtour

Benjamin Clementine ist zurück! Im Herbst 2022 erschien sein drittes Studioalbum „And I Have Been“ mit zwölf wort- und stimmgewaltigen Songs, die sich eher über Clementines Persönlichkeit greifen lassen, als über reine Genre-Schubladen. Mit seiner einzigartigen Mixtur aus leidenschaftlichem Klavierspiel, tiefsinnigen Lyrics und hingebungsvoller Darbietung wird Benjamin Clementine weltweit als eines der größten musikalischen Genies bezeichnet. 

BENJAMIN CLEMENTINE
BENJAMIN CLEMENTINE © AKATRE STUDIOS

Benjamin Clementine: einzigartiger Mix:leidenschaftliches Klavierspiel, tiefsinnige Lyrics und hingebungsvolle Darbietung


Clementine klingt, als wäre Ray Charles auferstanden, um zu einem Song von Chilly Gonzales zu singen. Seine tiefe und warme Soul-Stimme verleiht Clementines anmutigen Klavierballaden das besondere Etwas. 

Der in Ghana geborene Brite hat sich eine erstaunliche Karriere aufgebaut, in kleinen Live-Clubs begeistert er ebenso wie in großen Konzerthallen. Benjamin Clementine zieht das Publikum schon mit den leisesten Worten und Piano-Anschlägen in seinen Bann.

Bereits sein Debütalbum "Cornerstone" heimste medial sämtliche Lorbeeren ein, doch live zeigt der gebürtige Londoner sein Potential noch beeindruckender. Die ersten Eindrücke seiner neuen Stücke bezeugen, dass Benjamin Clementine noch wesentlich mehr Fans bezaubern möchte.

„I’ve been lonely“, sang er in seiner ersten Single „Cornerstone“ und man kann sich bildlich vorstellen, wie er mit diesem Lied einst die Passanten der Pariser Metro zum innehalten und staunen brachte. Genau dort wurde der Wahl-Pariser nämlich entdeckt.

Das war um 2014 so, als seine ersten Songs „Condolence“ oder „Cornerstone“ erschienen: Seine Stimme hatte Soul, sein Pianospiel war jazzig, seine Live-Schule waren die Straßen von Paris, wo Clementine eine Weile obdachlos, lebte und schon damals viele Leute beeindruckte.

Nach den Alben „At Least For Now“ (2014 mit dem Mercury Prize ausgezeichnet) und dem ebenfalls gefeierten „I Tell A Fly“, hat sich Clementie für „And I Have Been“ nun komplett autark aufgestellt: Die Platte kommt auf seinem eigenen Label „Preserve Artists“ und wurde von ihm komplett selbst geschrieben, produziert und eingespielt.

Benjamin Clementine erklärte in einem Statement zur Platte: „‘And I Have Been' wurde während Covid in die Welt gebracht. Wie jeder wurde auch ich mit vielen Lektionen, Komplikationen und Erleuchtungen konfrontiert, die damit zu tun hatten, meinen Weg mit jemandem Besonderen zu teilen.“

Benjamin Clementine ist mehr als nur ein talentierter Singer-Songwriter!
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Tempodrom