Skip to main content
© Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk

# BABEL 21

Migration and Jewish community

The exhibition portrays twelve young people with their diverse, international migration biographies. The portraits tell of their different origins and identities and at the same time reflect on their Jewish self-understanding in Germany and in Europe.

Address

Neue Synagoge - Centrum Judaicum

Oranienburger Straße 28 10117 Berlin

Centrum Judaicum(in der Neuen Synagoge Berlin)

Oranienburger Straße 28-30 10117 Berlin


For example, Akiva Weingarten, who grew up in a strictly orthodox Chassidic family in New York, Greta Zelener, who moved from Odessa to Berlin at the age of six, or Mo'men Ahmed, who fled from Iraq to Europe in 2014.
They all reflect the plurality and diversity of a new immigration society and a new Jewish community in Germany, which has resulted from the immigration of a quarter of millions of Jews from the former Soviet Union, as well as the immigration of several thousand Israelis in recent years.

The exhibition "#Babel 21. Migration und Jüdische Gemeinschaft" is grouped with numerous texts and pictures about the five thoughts of family, migration, home, religion and diversity. The portraits are scholarship holders as well as Alumnae of the Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk, which promotes talented Jewish students and graduate students.

Event calendar

Events in Month October 2017
MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturdaySunday
1
10:00
2
No event
3
No event
4
No event
5
No event
6
No event
7
No event
8
No event
9
No event
10
No event
11
No event
12
No event
13
10:00
14
No event
15
No event
16
No event
17
No event
18
No event
19
No event
20
No event
21
No event
22
No event
23
No event
24
No event
25
No event
26
10:00
27
No event
28
No event
29
No event
30
No event
31
No event

Direkt zum Inhalt
© Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk

# BABEL 21

Migration und jüdische Gemeinschaft

Die Ausstellung porträtiert zwölf junge Menschen mit ihren vielfältigen, internationalen Migrationsbiographien. Die Porträtierten erzählen von ihren unterschiedlichen  Herkünften und Identitäten und reflektieren zugleich über ihr jüdisches Selbstverständnis in Deutschland und in Europa.

Adresse

Neue Synagoge - Centrum Judaicum

Oranienburger Straße 28 10117 Berlin

Centrum Judaicum(in der Neuen Synagoge Berlin)

Oranienburger Straße 28-30 10117 Berlin


So etwa Akiva Weingarten, der in einer streng orthodoxen chassidischen Familie in New York aufgewachsen ist, Greta Zelener, die mit sechs Jahren von Odessa nach Berlin zog, oder Mo’men Ahmed, der 2014 aus dem Irak nach Europa floh.

Sie alle spiegeln die Pluralität und Vielfalt einer neuen Einwanderungsgesellschaft und einer neuen jüdischen Gemeinschaft in Deutschland wider, die aufgrund der Immigration von einer knappen Viertelmillion Jüdinnen und Juden aus der ehemaligen Sowjetunion sowie der Einwanderung einiger Tausend Israelis in den letzten Jahren entstanden ist.

Die Ausstellung »#Babel 21. Migration und Jüdische Gemeinschaft« gruppiert sich mit zahlreichen Texten und Bildern um die fünf Gedankenräume Familie, Migration, Heimat, Religion und Vielfalt. Die Porträtierten sind Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten sowie Alumnae des Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerks, das begabte jüdische Studierende und Promovierende fördert.

Veranstaltungskalender

Veranstaltungen im Monat Oktober 2017
MontagDienstagMittwochDonnerstagFreitagSamstagSonntag
1
10:00
2
No event
3
No event
4
No event
5
No event
6
No event
7
No event
8
No event
9
No event
10
No event
11
No event
12
No event
13
10:00
14
No event
15
No event
16
No event
17
No event
18
No event
19
No event
20
No event
21
No event
22
No event
23
No event
24
No event
25
No event
26
10:00
27
No event
28
No event
29
No event
30
No event
31
No event