Skip to main content

Reading and Conversation: Der Schamaya-Palast

Once among the most luxurious buildings in the Jewish quarter of the old town of Damascus, the Shamaya Palace is now the place where Ahmad and his family are housed: they are Palestinian refugees who share living quarters in the palace with almost 50 other refugee families.


When he meets George, a Palestinian Christian, Ahmad finds a good friend. Together they explore life in Damascus and dive into the human relations in the old town with its religious and ethnic diversity—until one day Ahmad disappears and the world of politics catches up with their lives.

Ali Al-Kurdi’s novel, which was translated to German by Larissa Bender, tells of the misery of the Palestinian refugees, the situation of Syrian Jews following the founding of Israel, of everyday life in Damascus, and of love stories between refugees and Jewish women.Born in Damascus in 1953, Ali Al-Kurdi is a Palestinian writer and journalist. Because of his political and cultural activities and involvement with the left-wing movement in Syria he was targeted by the Syrian secret service beginning in the 1970s and jailed as a political prisoner several times. From 1982 alone, he spent nine years in prison, first at the secret service facility in Damascus and later at the notorious Tadmur and Saidnaya prisons. He published a volume of short stories in Arabic in 1998, which was followed by his debut novel, Der Schamaya-Palast, in 2010. He lives in Weimar.

Larissa Bender is a literary translator from the Arabic as well as a journalist with a focus on Syria and Arabic literature, lecturer in Arabic, moderator, workshop teacher, expert on Arabic literature, and consultant for publishers and arts promoters. In 2018, she was awarded the German Federal Cross of Merit for her work as an intercultural ambassador for the Arabic world.


Featuring a musical performance by Farah Sulaiman (flute).

Presented in German and Arabic.

Admission is free, registration is required.
Additional information
Participating artists
Ali Al-Kurdi
Larissa Bender
Prof. Dr. Kai Wiegandt
Farah Sulaiman

Direkt zum Inhalt

Lesung und Gespräch: Der Schamaya-Palast

Im Schamaya-Palast, einst eines der luxuriösesten Gebäude des jüdischen Viertels in der Altstadt von Damaskus, werden Ahmad und seine Familie untergebracht, palästinensische Flüchtlinge, die sich von nun an mit knapp 50 weiteren Familien den Palast als Flüchtlingsunterkunft teilen.


In George, einem christlichen Palästinenser, findet Ahmad einen guten Freund. Gemeinsam tauchen sie in das Leben in Damaskus ein und gehen den menschlichen Beziehungen in der Altstadt mit all ihrer religiösen und ethnischen Vielfalt nach – bis Ahmad eines Tages verschwindet und die große Politik das Leben der beiden einholt. 

Ali Al-Kurdis Roman, der von Larissa bender ins Deutsche übersetzt wurde, erzählt vom Elend der palästinensischen Flüchtlinge, von der Lage der syrischen Juden nach der Gründung Israels, vom alltäglichen Leben der Menschen in Damaskus und von Liebesgeschichten zwischen Flüchtlingen und jüdischen Frauen.Ali Al-Kurdi, geboren 1953 in Damaskus, ist ein palästinensischer Schriftsteller und Journalist. Aufgrund seiner politisch-kulturellen Tätigkeiten und seiner Nähe zur linken Bewegung in Syrien stand er ab den 1970er Jahren im Visier der syrischen Geheimdienste und wurde mehrfach zum politischen Gefangenen. Allein von 1982 an war er neun Jahre inhaftiert, zuerst im Geheimdienstgefängnis in Damaskus, danach in den berüchtigten Gefängnissen Tadmur und Saidnaya. 1998 veröffentlichte er auf Arabisch den Kurzgeschichten-Band Die Parade der Wildenten, 2010 erschien mit Der Schamaya-Palast sein erster Roman. Heute lebt er in Weimar.

Larissa Bender ist Literaturübersetzerin aus dem Arabischen, Journalistin mit Schwerpunkt Syrien und arabische Literatur, Arabischdozentin, Moderatorin, Workshopleiterin, Gutachterin für arabische Literatur sowie Beraterin für Verlage und Kulturveranstalter. 2018 erhielt sie für ihr Engagement als Brückenbauerin in die arabische Welt das Bundesverdienstkreuz.


Mit einem musikalischen Beitrag von Farah Sulaiman (Flöte)In deutscher und arabischer Sprache.

Der Eintritt ist frei, eine Registrierung ist erforderlich.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
Ali Al-Kurdi
Larissa Bender
Prof. Dr. Kai Wiegandt
Farah Sulaiman